Sunday, May 1, 2016

Archdiocese of New Orleans awards the Order of St. Louis IX Medallion

Order of St. Louis to be awarded to 239 on May 1

Two hundred thirty-nine laypersons who have devoted themselves to the work of the Catholic Church throughout the Archdiocese of New Orleans will be awarded the Order of St. Louis IX Medallion in ceremonies May 1.

Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond will present the awards at St. Joseph Church, 1802 Tulane Ave., New Orleans, at 3 p.m. The ceremony includes a prayer service and presentation of the medals.

The Order of St. Louis IX award was established in 1975 to honor those members of the laity who have contributed their time and talents to the church. In the past 41 years, more than 10,000 men and women have received the medallion as a token of thanks for their Christ-like service to the church.

This year’s recipients of the Order of St. Louis IX are:

New Orleans (East Bank): Ryan Adams, George Alden, Lisa Alden, Stephanie Berault, Rose Rebecca Brocato, Louis Buras, Michael Butterworth, Burton Cary, Deborah Cary, Cynthia Cheri, Mary Lu Cooper, Betty Davis, Joseph Davis Jr., Nellie Dennis, Jacob DeRusha, Irma Duckworth, Theresa Dupart, Walter Dupart.

Kathy Fayard, Mark Fayard, Joan A. Ferro, Catherine Francis, Melvin George, Rose George, Eugene M. Giroir, Linda Giroir, Loretta Green, Consuella Green-Lancelin, Celeste Harrison, Maria Hebert, Jasmine Hodges, Marie N. Hotard, Sidney J. Hotard Jr., Ken Jayroe, Martin Kauchak, Maria Nguyen Kiep.

Greg LaCour, Yvette LaCour, Joseph Laguerre, Gene Luke, Joseph Thieu Van Ly, Meagan Magaldi, Gaynell Marchand, Patty Mathes, Anita McCrossen, Ellsworth P. McKendall, Zelda McKendall, Anne McSweeney, William McSweeney, Mirna Lagos Mendoza, Theresa Dzung Ngoc Nguyen, Roberto Pineda, Rosa Pineda, Norris Plaisance, Celeste Ramirez, Jason Rich.

Ann Roussel, Tyler Scheuermann, Harold Sears, Ernestine Sims, Shannon Sims, Scott Steckler (posthumously), Tom Stokes, J.F. Thompson (posthumously), Michael Bui Tran Thu, Lindsay Touchet and Tommie Vassel.

New Orleans (Algiers): James Junot, Michelle Junot, Boyd L. Mothe, Audy Ryes, Jerry Simoneaux, Reggie Thomas and Giuse Bui Van Kha.

Abita Springs: Jo Keiffer, Brad Laguaite and Alison Laguaite.

Ama: Randy Lauve and Connie Lauve.

Avondale: Giuse Tran Van Kinh, Maria Tran Thi Hue and Mark Anthony Moll.

Belle Chasse: Jim Peeples and Carol Gainey.

Bogalusa: Charles Weintritt and Carol Bush (posthumously)

Braithewaite: Gregory Meyer and Gina Buras Meyer.

Bridge City: Thomas Lambert.

Chalmette: Madeline Saavedra and Frederick Wallace.

Covington: Stephen Phillippi, Malvern Phillippi, Terry Parker, Ellen Parker and Todd Russell.

Crown Point: Michael Helmer, Rachel Helmer, Floyd Robin and Beatrice Robin.

Des Allemands: Justilien Cortez Jr.

Destrehan: John Canale, Debbie Canale, George Schlorff and Pattie Schlorff.

Edgard: Vernadine Oubre.

Folsom: Eugene Vizzini and Judy Vizzini.

Franklinton: Joanne Thorp.

Garyville: Pauline Roussel.

Gretna: William R. Laughlin, Stan Salathe, Judy Salathe, Thu Thien Vu, Minh Duong, Lemm A. Bauer and Peggy Palmer.

Hahnville: Charles E. Albert.

Harahan: Barbara Butera, Claudio Barsoza and Nellie Barsoza.

Harvey: Donald Cardinal, Kathleen Miller, Robert Mistretta, Ruth Mistretta, Merlin Kaupp and Marion Cortez.

Jefferson: Corinne Hebert and Josephine Reeser.

Kenner: Luis Mendoza, Alicia Mendoza, David Marcel, Lynn Marcel, Nathan Fourroux, Dorothy Duncan, Juan José Gutierrez, Elizabeth Gutierrez and Charles Brown.

LaPlace: Stephen Hernandez, Kim Hernandez, Susan Lanza, Annabelle Provence and Sylvester Dumas.

Lacombe: Martin Dailey, Paul Geohegan, Elizabeth Geohegan and Shirley Dailey.

Lafitte: Charline B. Polkey, Kerry Lauricella and Sandra Lauricella.

Luling: Carol St. Cyr, Norma Pilcher, Russell Pilcher and Heather Faucheux.

Madisonville: John Joseph Finan Jr., Patricia Finan, Kenneth Dufour and Cynthia P. Dufour.

Mandeville: Darrin Paul Romeo (posthumously), Matthew Young, Lynne Young, Yvonne C. Decker, John La Plante and Ann La Plante.

Marrero: Rhonda Aucoin, Dominico Nguyen Van Huong, Maria Pham Thi Sang, Keith Joseph LeFevre, Diane Aliff LeFevre, Raymond Joseph Boudreaux Jr., Melinda Parfait Boudreaux, Lydia Bolden, Margie Richardson, Warren Doskey and Jenny Doskey.

Metairie: Raymond Vath, Nada Vath, Ed Mazoué Jr., Helen Hughes, Gerard Peters, Blythe Peters, James D. Doles III, Leslie Doles, Melanie Plaideau, Earl Wilson, Cecilia Wilson, Jennifer Collins, Dr. Keith Collins (posthumously), Rebecca Steppe, Daniel Edmund, Eric Rogers, John Prieur Jr., Cheryl Prieur.

Victoria D. Smith, Betty Laizer, Karen Donnelly, Linda Preston, Harry Hancock, Deborah Hancock, Karen DeLuca Hollingsworth, John Montelepre Jr., Janice Montelepre, Frederick Olsen, Josie Olsen, David Eck and Sherri Eck.

Norco: Marian Oleksik, Paul Hinchman and Debra Hinchman.

Paradis: Darlene Landeche.

Pearl River: Peter Dakin Jr.

Pointe A La Hache: Ferdinand Summers.

Port Sulphur: Dominick Scandurro and Alice Scandurro.

Reserve: Vanessa Noble, Willie Wallace Jr. and Suzanne M. Remondet.

River Ridge: David Penick, Margaret Penick and Jarold Smith.

Slidell: Frank Tarantino, JoAnn Tarantino, Elias Simpson, Geraldine M. Seymour, Arthur Garcia, Barbara Berrigan, Evie Schneidau, Marie Hover and Timothy Helbling.

St. Benedict: Arthur Seghers and Anna Bienvenu.

St. Bernard: Patricia Serpas Romero.

Terrytown: Art Cervantes, Gloria Cervantes and Claire Guidry.

Violet: Shirley Mouton and Fay Hammer.

Waggaman: Milton O’Quinn and Patsy O’Quinn
- See more at:

No comments:

Post a Comment