Saturday, April 15, 2017

Remember, Divine Mercy Novena began yesterday!

Divine Mercy novena begins on Good Friday

The devotion of the Divine Mercy novena is prayed between Good Friday and the Sunday of Divine Mercy, the Sunday following Easter, for the mercy of a good life and death. Those praying the novena are asked to say a prayer of special intentions on each of the nine days, followed by the Chaplet of Divine Mercy.
St. Faustina wrote that Jesus told her, “On each day of the novena you will bring to My heart a different group of souls and you will immerse them in this ocean of My mercy … On each day you will beg My Father, on the strength of My passion, for the graces for these souls.” (Diary of Faustina, 1209)
The prayers of special intentions for souls during the Divine Mercy novena are:
Day 1 (Good Friday) — All mankind, especially sinners
Day 2 (Holy Saturday) — The souls of priests and religious
Day 3 (Easter Sunday) — All devout and faithful souls
Day 4 (Easter Monday) — Those who do not believe in Jesus and those who do not yet know Him

Day 5 (Easter Tuesday) — The souls of separated brethren
Day 6 (Easter Wednesday) — The meek and humble souls and the souls of children
Day 7 (Easter Thursday) — The souls who especially venerate and glorify Jesus’ mercy
Day 8 (Easter Friday) — The souls who are detained in purgatory
Day 9 (Easter Saturday) — The souls who have become lukewarm
For a list of these prayers in their entirety, visit or stop by the nearest Catholic bookstore to purchase the Divine Mercy novena prayers.
The Sunday of Divine Mercy is a feast that was instituted on May 5, 2000, by Pope St. John Paul II. A Polish nun, St. Faustina Kowalska, heard Jesus telling her, “Say always the Chaplet I have taught you. He (she) who says it, shall experience My Mercy, during his (her) life, and mostly at the hour of his (her) death.”

No comments:

Post a Comment