Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Baltimore Catechism Day 142

Which are the holydays of obligation in the United States? The holydays of obligation in the United States are these six:
  • Christmas Day (December 25)
  • The Octave of the Nativity (January 1)
  • Ascension Thursday (40 days after Easter)
  • The Assumption (August 15)
  • All Saints' Day (November 1)
  • The Immaculate Conception (December 8)
What else does the Church oblige us to do on holydays of obligation? The Church obliges us to abstain from servile work on holydays of obligation, just as on Sundays, as far as we are able.

More on that -> CCC 2180-2188

No comments:

Post a Comment