Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Baltimore Catechism lists Beatitudes


Which are the eight beatitudes? 

The eight beatitudes are:

  1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  2. Blessed are the meek, for they shall possess the earth.
  3. Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
  4. Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for justice, for they shall be satisfied.
  5. Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
  6. Blessed are the clean of heart, for they shall see God.
  7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of
  8. Blessed are they who suffer persecution for justice' sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
(See Matthew 5:3-10.)

Further reading: CCC 1716-1717

No comments:

Post a Comment